Avocado 3.0

Another re-post of my blog.

I love action movies.  Jerry Bruckheimer is a guarantee that something is going to explode.  JJ Abrams did a phenomenal job with the new Star Trek movies.  Usually these films are for sheer entertainment purposes, but every once in a while you can glean something valuable.  You have no idea where I’m going with this, unless you’ve seen the movie.

R.E.D.

Bruce Willis and Karl Urban were fantastic in this movie.  Lots of action and explosions.  However, there was a scene at the very beginning of the first one where Bruce Willis (Frank Moses) is on the phone with Mary-Louise Parker (Sarah).  They have a discussion about an avocado plant.  Is it possible to grow an avocado from seed like they say?  I’m not sure.

I’ve tried Avocado 1.0 and Avocado 2.0.  I’m now on Avocado 3.0.  I decided to give it another shot.  I have a sunny window this time and I think there’s a chance I might be able to grow a tree!

IMG_2295

All the instructions I’ve read say to use the 3-toothpick method (shown above) and keep the bottom of the seed wet.  Eventually, little roots will start to come off the bottom, the seed will split at the top and  a little shoot will begin to sprout.  After that, you can plant it in soil and it should take off.

I’ve reached the part before where the shoot comes out the top, but then a drought hit and I didn’t have enough water in it one day and Boom! dead Avocado 1.0.  Then it rained and rained and rained and I was swarmed with mosquito larvae and the seed rotted.  *sigh*  This time, it’s in a window, it’s not subject to inclement weather, and it’s readily visible so I won’t forget about it.

The catch is that they say it takes a decade to get a tree really going.  Wow.  10 more years to buy avocados.  I did buy 2 more the other day and I’m going to work on these seeds, also.

Last year, I planted lemon seeds.  Success!  I have a tiny tree about 6″ tall.  I planted several seeds from a couple of lemons and waited to see the results.  I think 10 or so came up, but something got hold of the leaves and ate them off a few of the little ones, so I only have about 6 left.  1, for sure, is doing well, at least.  Don’t ask me how long you have to wait for lemons, but I’m pretty sure it’s not a whole decade.

There is contentment is growing your own food.  I happen to love trees, especially trees that produce something useful like fruit.  I can’t wait to have my own yard one day to really set down roots and let my plants do the same.  For now, potted plants will have to do.  Any which way, I hope to have fresh-off-the-tree fruit in my future.

What type of plants do you enjoy growing?  Have you had any success with avocados?  If you have any hints or tips, please share them so we can all learn.

Have a fantastic day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

