I don’t wanna!

HAPPENINGS

Okay, it’s officially winter here in Texas.  The freezing temperatures and the blizzard that blasted half the state this weekend let us know that winter is actually upon us. ❄️

I broke out the wool coat today.  A sure sign that things were beginning to dip around here.  Still had my dressy sandals on.  I love those things.  In fact, except for casual day where I sometimes wear tennis shoes, I almost always wear some sort of open-toe, flip-floppy shoe.

I can’t help it.  I was raised on the beach and I couldn’t wait to get back to it.  Now, we are back in Texas and there’s just not much I can do about getting to the beach.  And I hate to say it, but the beaches are one thing this state really needs some work on!

I dream of cruises and sugar sand beaches and palm trees swaying in the tropical breeze.  I long for colorful homes that welcome you in.  I crave a tasty dish of fresh fish.  I miss strolling downtown under the oaks.  I dream of sitting on my brother’s front porch on a warm spring evening, sipping iced tea and listening to the sounds of the neighborhood.

Maui.  Tahiti.  The Caribbean.  Or Florida. Yes, I miss Florida.  

Now, the panhandle gets quite cold.  Hubs and I were married in the winter and everyone back in Texas asked why we didn’t get married on the beach.  Well, for one thing, it was winter.  For another, it ended up pouring down rain that day.  It wouldn’t have been pretty. Maybe we should have waited until warmer weather.  Of course, I thought it would be cliche to get married on the beach and do the whole sea shell decor, but now, I could kick myself every single time I think about it.  I still fit in my dress and some days I’m awfully tempted to rent a car and drive over there and take some pics in it.

Maybe for our 10 year…

But it’s winter right now.  In the 30’s outside, in a hoodie inside.  Hot soup.  Thick socks.  Drippy nose.  Cold air that makes your teeth ache.

Maybe I’m just getting older, but maybe not.  Maybe I’m anemic and cold hits me harder.  Maybe I have arthritis and this damp cold just seeps deep down into my bones.

Maybe I just need to redecorate.

Told Hubs the other day to not be surprised if he came home and the house (maybe only one room) was redecorated in beach colors.  I’m slowly, but surely, getting there.

I know it will be spring soon (not soon enough) and then summer will follow. 

Warm temperatures.  πŸŒž Salt air. Coconut-scented tanning oil.  πŸ‘™Sound of the waves crashing πŸ–and the squawking of seagulls.  Palm trees that aren’t native, but they make it look nice.  πŸŒ΄

Yeah, it’s winter.  And I don’t wanna.  But I’ll keep dreaming of the beach and keep the sand in my soul until then. πŸ“…

  
 
Peace, love, and beachy thoughts, everyone.

Have a great evening!

  

Leave a Reply

