Boys will be boys!

HAPPENINGS

As my son nears his 3rd birthday, I have come to realize that I need to take better care of myself. His energy level is through the roof, but it’s all natural energy! He’s not ADD or anything! He eats healthy and I don’t. So, we’ve been on a mission to eat better and start taking good, quality vitamins. I have noticed a huge improvement in my mood and my energy level since I’ve started taking them and eating better. I’m still not where I want to be, but then again, living in a small space makes it difficult to keep things stocked like I would want them to be.

The downside is that it has been raining almost non-stop for a week. We had a clear 4t of July evening and we were able to watch some fireworks, which someone did not enjoy. So, I’m just happy we did NOT drive an hour to go see the big shows. Oh well.

Our biggest issue right now is what I have dealt with ALLLLLLLLLLL morning. This child will NOT listen. He starts to do something, we advise him strongly NOT to do it, and he does it anyhow. Then he throws a fit. I’m wondering how long it will take to get through to him that once something is gone (out the window on the highway or whatever), it’s gone. We have this little space between the couch and the cabinet and certain things like Hot Wheels go so nicely in there. Well, we need to buy a dowel rod to dig out all the cars. We also have these heater vents (not in use) that hold lots of things like markers, crayons, coins, Hot Wheels, etc. They also can hold an iPhone, so we have to keep a super close eye on Beanster.

Don’t get me wrong, he has plenty of things he can do and he has complete liberty to do, but when he’s inside, there are rules. Rules do not apply inside, obviously. I thought they did, but I guess I was wrong. It’s like his brain shuts down to all rules when he walks in that door. *sigh*

As for what he can do, he has a wonderful time! We found a mud puddle the other day. I was about to tell him not to jump in it, then thought, “what the heck?” He had the best time and I got some truly incredible pictures!

Splash time!
Splash time!
Slick spot!
Slick spot!
Hey, why not?
Hey, why not?
It'll wash off.....
It’ll wash off…..

Let’s just say that we hosed him off outside, then tossed him in the shower!

The other thing we’ve been doing is taking pics of some of the amazing sunsets we’ve had lately. The clouds have either been extra gorgeous or else we’ve moved to a place where we can just see them more often. We were completely surrounded by oak trees before, but now we have pines everywhere. We have to drive to the end of the road to get the pics, but sometimes they are really worth it.

Amazing sunset!
Amazing sunset!

Beanster enjoys going with me and looking to see if there’s lightning, no matter the weather!

"Look at that!"
“Look at that!”

We’ve taking pictures of frogs, butterflies, damselflies, lilies, hibiscus, and tons of other stuff we’ve found growing and living around here. I have to get really close and get a focus on them, which allows Beanster to get a close-up view, too. He’s really curious and gets excited when he gets to see something up close. It’s been fun to explore.

It amazes me how much is right around you! We’re living (temporarily) in a campground until we figure out what we’re going to do permanently, so Beanster and I have been taking full advantage of our surroundings. We didn’t move far from where we were, but it’s amazing how much the flora and fauna change with just a few miles!

HOMESCHOOLING

We’ve taken our homeschooling outside more and that seem to work well for him. We reinforce what we’ve learned with worksheets, because he’s just not into paper. He loves stickers, still. I’ve been picking up little packs here and there. I am planning on using them in a new way. I want to teach him groups/sorting. I have the idea in my head, but I just haven’t gotten there yet.

Today, we worked on one particular topic. I asked him what he wanted to learn and he said, “Airport!” I think he thought we were going to go to one (which I do want to plan a field trip to the nearest one, if possible). Well, we used a tissue box, an organic poptarts box, about 3 sheets of drawing paper, a tube from a paper towel roll, and some crayons. I think it turned out pretty well!

Homemade airport!
Homemade airport!

I didn’t have an empty paper towel roll, so I had to take them all off. At least we have napkins at the ready now!

I'm pretty sure it was nearly full...
I’m pretty sure it was nearly full…

Well, that’s all for now. I have a 3 year old who just can’t quit disobeying the rules. I see a time out in our future….*sigh*. But I wouldn’t trade him for the world!!!! Peace and love, everyone. I pray you are all blessed and enjoying life.

Happy Beanster.
Happy Beanster.
One thought on “Boys will be boys!

  1. Looks like you are having a great experience with your family! Wishing you a wonderful birthday soon!

Leave a Reply

