I guess I’m just too serious all the time.

HOMESCHOOL

Well, we took our field trip. We’ve had two now that were not very educational, according to my standards. The first one, I forgot all my paperwork for handouts (mostly coloring pages). The second one, well, the pictures say it all….

IMG_2048

IMG_2070

IMG_2098

IMG_2110

IMG_2230

Let’s just say that two little boys can take a wonderfully historic fort that has existed for centuries and turn it into a giant sandbox. I guess there’s a lesson for me in all of this. I do tend to take things way too seriously, sometimes … a lot of the time. Okay, most of the time. I tend to worry about what is going on that is completely out of my control. Yes, I don’t always know where the money is coming from. Yes, the schedule is a little too tight sometimes. Yes, my child doesn’t take a nap on schedule (like today).

But, once again, I have to realize that it’s the little things you walk past everyday that make life so enjoyable. It’s sharing a smile with a complete stranger, the cool wind on a hot day, the meal that tastes extra good, the coffee that is just perfect, the laughter of a child.

Yeah, there is a lot of history contained within the walls of Fort Pickens. I know they are only three and I thought the canons would be completely fascinating to them. But a friendship was built between the boys and between us moms. Sometimes you just can’t beat that. It was a great day. We relaxed, the kids slept all the way home, and I learned a little something along the way. Let’s chalk another one up to the students being the teachers for a day.

Have a great weekend everyone. Peace and love.

IMG_2271

Leave a Reply

