Is tomorrow really Monday?

This week has flown by. I can’t be truthful if I say everything is all caught up around the house. It’s not. Bit by bit, though, it’s happening. We had a super busy week, which included another field trip with some rambunctious little boys, and a couple of trips that were of necessity. So, no. Nothing has really been accomplished on the “check list”. However…

RECIPES OF ALL KINDS

I’ve been cooking a lot of Chinese food lately and some of it has been really good. The last one I made was Pepper Steak. In order to not let anything go to waste, I threw in the other half of the Savoy cabbage, the last two green onions, and the other head of broccoli. Turned out so good that there was hardly any left…and I made 2 cups of rice to go with it!

Pepper Steak!
Pepper Steak!

Here is the link to the recipe:

http://chinesefood.about.com/od/beef/r/pepper_steak.htm

I also decided to try my hand at sugar cookies. Does anyone else know why the stores charge as much as they do for a box of 6 or 8 of those little things? It’s because they’re a pain to make. Well, I am quite sure that if I had an awesome kitchen with lots of room, they would be more fun, but a galley kitchen just doesn’t quite have the roll-out space needed. Anywho, I got them made and they were delicious. I just wish it would have made more…..

Valentine sugar cookies.
Valentine sugar cookies.

AND… a week or two ago, I found a bread machine for $5 at the local thrift store! What sold me on it was the fact that it came with a book and it was a West Bend. Well, I finally got to try it yesterday. I had to purchase a few things to go in it, like…yeast. I went ahead and just bought the jar of it instead of the packets. SO MUCH EASIER! Anywho, I layered it all up and pushed the appropriate button and voila! In 3.5 hours, without lifting a finger (except for adding raisins at the “beep”), I had homemade Oatmeal Raisin bread! I love that thing! It’s my new favorite kitchen gadget, outside of the stove-top grill that I got for Christmas. Now I can bake up some bread, then toast it on the grill! Yea!

Homemade Oatmeal Raisin Bread!  Yum!
Homemade Oatmeal Raisin Bread! Yum!

The funny note in all of this is that while I was trying to cook some of these new recipes that required my undivided attention, Beanster snagged a bag out of the pantry full of organic rice crispies and puffed millet that I use in my cookie recipes. He got quiet for a minute…

Beanster waving as I snap a pic of him eating dry puffed millet and rice!
Beanster waving as I snap a pic of him eating dry puffed millet and rice!

Fortunately, everything ended well and there was a beautiful sunset. Everyone ate well and I am looking forward to making more Chinese food and homemade bread. The shamrock sugar cookies may be on hold until I forget how much trouble they were…. 🙂

Have a great evening everyone. Peace and love!

IMG_6862

Leave a Reply

