My 100th Post!

Wow! I can’t believe I’ve had this much to say! When I started this blog last year, I had no idea what to say, if anyone would read it, or if I had the courage to actually follow through with it! Well, I guess I don’t have the commitment issues I thought I did, eh? It’s hard to believe it’s been this long already, but then again, I can’t believe it’s already February!

HOMESCHOOL

Hand print prayer guide.
Hand print prayer guide.

IMG_6800

I found a great website that has a list of Scriptures to pray over your child. I’d been wanting to do this for myself and the grandmothers. I drew his handprint on a foam sheet and Googled “scriptures to pray over children”. The first website I found was Circleofmoms.com.

They were all great verses, but Beanster only has 5 fingers and a small palm. It was hard to choose. These are great to keep in your Bible or somewhere visible. I forget where I originally saw this.

PERCEPTIONS

More important than educating my child, feeding him as organically as possible, or anything else, is the amount of time and love I pour into him. In our busy world, it seems hard to find time to cram everything into a day. Some days, I am so bogged down that the day is nearly over when I look back and see what time I did or did not spend directly with Beanster.

His behavior is often a clear indicator. When he gets the time he needs with hands-on homeschool instruction, or one-on-one play time at the playground or other outdoor area, or time to just be still and watch a movie, he is one of the best children on the face of the planet. There are days when I am so busy catching things up and he misses that time with me. His behavior goes the other direction and I realize how much time I spent doing other things.

I try to teach him manners, teach him the love of God, teach him life skills, teach him educational things, and teach him how to treat others. I make plans of what I want to do to spend more time with him. I do all these things for his good.

And just like my blog, I went into motherhood with fear and trepidation, yet some expectant joy and hope. I don’t know what each day brings, but I try to find the joy, the excitement, and the wonder of the unknown in it all.

I hope to inspire, bless, and encourage while being open, honest, and, hopefully, real. I thank each of you who read my blog for the time you take out of your busy day. It means a lot to me to know that I’m not just wasting my cyber-breath in these posts.

I hope everyone is having a great week, so far. Peace and love, everyone.

i get to give birth and change diapers

Leave a Reply

