We now return you to your regularly scheduled blog…

I apologize for the past few days. I’ve had some internet problems, but now I’m back. I actually have 2 posts that I’m going to do today, so be on the lookout for both!

The first is one is about FOOD!

RECIPES OF ALL KINDS

I have been craving Chinese food…the good stuff…for quite some time. I don’t like that you have to buy so much at a time, because it’s not cheap. I found some Beef Lo Mein at the store, but it was a little pricey for a bag that only fed 2-3 people. We have 5. That would have been $10 just for enough to eat. So, I found a recipe for Chicken Lo Mein (just as good) and went shopping. I did have to purchase a couple of cooking wines (rice wine) and oils (sesame oil). That will last for a while, though. The chicken was the most expensive, but I bought the “healthier” chicken and only got the 2 boneless, skinless breasts for $3.74. Not bad. I went ahead and used them both, though I usually only use 1. I’m glad I went with using 2.

Here’s the recipe I used:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chicken-lo-mein/

It was super tasty. The one thing that I didn’t do correctly was the ginger. Next time I need to bludgeon it to mince it up. Every time I found a piece, I knew it! Looked pretty good in the pan, too!

Homemade Chicken Lo Mein!
Homemade Chicken Lo Mein!

Next time, I want to try Beef Lo Mein. You know what else sounds good? Cashew Chicken! That might be a good Valentine’s meal, eh? Yum!

RAMBLINGS

As I bit into each hunk of ginger root (yes, it was diced tiny), I kept remembering a story by Tom Bodett. Does anyone know who that is? He was the voice of Motel 6: “We’ll leave the light on for ya” and he has been on NPR quite a bit. That guy is hysterical! I checked out a couple of his tapes from the library one time. I couldn’t listen to it in the car, because I was laughing so hard! Anywho, he tells of story of when his wife was pregnant and he decided to help out by cooking dinner…Chinese. This one line would run through my head:

“I could tell she liked it because every time she bit into a hung of that ginger root, tears would come to her eyes and she’d look over at me and smile. Boy, was I pleased.”

(excerpt from As Far As You Can Go Without a Passport, The View From the End of the Road, by Tom Bodett, 1986)

Anywho, it was a great meal, and I had a good laugh remembering the comedy and wit of a great story teller!

Peace and love, everyone!

Leave a Reply

