I feel like I’ve gotten somewhere.

AROUND THE HOUSE

Two days ago, I took Beanster to daycare, then I came back home and proceeded to clean out the office. (Okay, my dream home would have 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. One bedroom would be the spare room/office.) All of Beanster’s stuff is now in the living room, but it’s all tucked away. The Christmas gift wrap and tissue and ornaments are all put away in organized boxes. I started three give away boxes. I cleaned off the desk. I organized all the papers. I worked my little tail off.

I had some free time. Wow. That was the most amazing feeling in the world! I could sit and look at a magazine or a book and not feel the least bit of guilt about doing so!

I am picking up as I go, but I can only do so much. It takes a household to keep it all going. Beanster is getting to be a big help. He loves helping with the laundry. He puts his little plastic dishes in the sink, whether they need to go there or not.

Now that it’s all organized, I feel like I have tons of free time. And you know what? I didn’t have to hardly throw anything out! Everything, almost, has a place! I’m pretty excited about that. All these diaper boxes are so sturdy and they are great for organizing! (Nothing like a little contact paper to make it all look consistent!)

HOMESCHOOL

Homeschool has not been very successful this week. One good thing that came out of it was that I started drawing dotted lines in an attempt to see if he could trace them. Yes, it was a straight line, but he traced it! I was so excited! He’s not into coloring anymore. He just seems to want to organize the crayons and then throw them everywhere. Hm. There’s plenty for him to color, too. I’m not sure what to do as of yet.

However, he is enjoying reading. The other good thing that happened is this: the other day I was running my finger along the words as I read them, and it clicked to him that the markings on the page mean something; I wasn’t just making up words about the pictures on the page! He started running his little fingers over the paragraphs and jabbering!

We did do our little snowman craft. I thought it turned out pretty cute. He loves glue and glitter, so we just went crazy with it. I had to vacuum soon after, because we were tracking glitter all over the house.

IMG_6512

In fact, he had so much fun that we had to start on another page that we had previously been trying to color.

IMG_6513

As you can tell, somebody thinks the glue dries instantly. So, we had to go back and re-glue and re-glitter. He had a blast!

We’re still going to do our snowflake craft this coming week. I have the coffee filters out and I am going to get a little bowl and mix the three blue glitters, the white, and the silver together. I think that might be easiest. It’s January, it’s cold somewhere in the world, and maybe one day Beanster will get to see real snowflakes!

I also want to find the homemade playdough and paint recipes. My mom saved a bunch of the PlayDough packages that she found and so I am going to use them and label them. That should be a fun thing to play with when I get it made.

RECIPES OF ALL KINDS

The one thing that is coming up is Beanster’s 2.5 year mark. Instead of a cake, I’m going to do something a little different. It involves the cookie glitter that I bought at Target after Christmas when it was 50% off.

I don’t know why I think it’s fun to celebrate the halfway point between his birthdays every year, but we’ve been doing it since the 6 month one. Strangely enough, it seems to coincide with a massive craving for chocolate! Anywho, I’ll let you know in a couple of weeks how it all turns out. The idea came to me today and I think it will be neat! It’s kind of a two-fold idea that will be educational and tasty! I may have to do it while somebody is at daycare…. 🙂

Well, I need to go finish my evening preparations: getting the coffee ready for the a.m., picking out Beanster’s clothes, picking out my clothes, and getting them all to the bathroom, and getting his lunch started and the diaper bag packed. It’s so easy to get out the door in the mornings now! Well, easier than it was. It’s still difficult when someone doesn’t quite make their way to the door.

I hope everyone had a great weekend. Peace and love!

commit to the LORD whatever you do

Leave a Reply

