Yeah, baby!

RECIPES OF ALL KINDS

I can finally say that I made an excellent recipe of soup! I got the recipe from my sister-in-law. It’s a potato soup, but man, is it good! Here goes:

10 or so small creamer potatoes, sliced about 1/2″
1 can Spam (or the equivalent measure of ham)
1 bag baby spinach, chopped
Chicken broth
Salt & Pepper
1 block cream cheese (I used the whole stuff)
1/2 stick of butter
Milk (I used evaporated b/c I was out of regular milk)
Onion and Garlic

Slice and boil the heck out of the potatoes until they are easily mashable. I used enough water that I didn’t have to pour any out, but I didn’t have to add any either. I have no idea how much that was. When they are done, saute’ diced spam and diced onion until tender, then toss in crushed garlic, and continue to cook for another minute. I had to deglaze the pan with a little red wine I had on hand. Dump all of that into the pot o’ potatoes. Mash the potatoes a little bit. Add cream cheese, butter, and milk. I think I used about 1/3 C. of evap milk. I didn’t really measure. I just poured. Add salt and pepper and about 1 C. of the chicken broth. Bring it all to a boil. It needs to condense down a little, so if it is really watery, just keep cooking it. I think mine was on the stove for about an hour or so. Add the spinach, chopped, and let that cook down. I even moved it to the back burner for a while on low. As a side, I sliced up a baguette and melted some butter, mixed in some olive oil, and dipped the bread on both sides. I put it on my stove-top grill plate that I got for Christmas. It was so awesome!

IMG_6483

IMG_6484

It was so tasty that there’s one serving of soup and one piece of bread left!

Well, I have a certain Beanster demanding to go to bed, so this is all I will write for now. Forgive me for any unseen typos or grammatical errors… Have a great evening, everyone. Peace and love!

for unto us a child is born

Leave a Reply

