Oops…

RAMBLINGS

Just about the time you think you’re pulling it all together, something goes wrong. It’s kind of like hauling laundry through the house and you drop that one sock… Anywho, I’ve decided not to let it ruin my day. I started out with great intentions. Got a lot of things done. Bought the Hubby’s Christmas present (I hope I got a good one this year…) and went to work with the Beanster. Okay. That’s kinda where my day fell apart. Found out Beanster wasn’t in the mood to go to work today and just wanted to wander around outside amongst the Christmas trees. No surprise there. Well, since he had gone to bed at 11:00 last night, I’d had caffeine, just to get me going today. What I didn’t realize is that I had chugged almost the WHOLE CARAFE! Yeah. So, I was totally wired and got everything done in an hour. The other half-hour was spent trying to get up and down stairs with a two year old and trying to pry him away from the trees.

It was not a productive day. THEN I found out I was supposed to go the bank. It’s Saturday. I didn’t know our bank was open on Saturday…. THEN I got stuck at a funeral procession. Now, I don’t mind waiting for those, but I never saw it coming and our light was green and when I was in the MIDDLE of the intersection, the cop flew by. Boy, I felt dumb. Had to sit there for 5 minutes. The good news is that everyone else had to stop for the procession and not for me. So, after being stuck behind a garbage truck, getting stuck in an intersection, getting tailed (no 2 seconds between cars) all the way home, I was a wreck. On top of all that, Beanster took a nap through all of this…*sigh*

So, it’s been an interesting Thanksgiving weekend. The high point is that we got to see family and eat lots of food. I took my salad to the get-together. Um, three of us ate it. They liked it and kept a large portion of it. I have mixed feelings about all of it. There was a ton of food, but I guess the carrots scared everyone away.

RECIPES OF ALL KINDS!

So here’s the recipe. Feel free to cut it in 1/2.

3 bags matchstick carrots
1 bag Craisins
1 can pineapple chunks (I had to cut them in 1/2 because the store I went to didn’t have “tidbits”)
Toasted slivered almonds (I used the tiny pack of about 1 C.)
Pepper
Parsley
1/2 C. Mayo
2 T. sugar
2-3T milk
Orange zest (really, orange peel, boiled)
Juice of 1/2 orange

Here’s the mixed results. I think if I would have boiled the carrots (or blanched them) to soften them up a bit, it would have been more palatable. The Craisins were awesome! The almonds were toasted to the point of near-overdoneness. It was a fine line, but I didn’t cross it and they were excellent! I kinda overdid the sauce. It was too soupy when I added the orange juice, but I wouldn’t trade that juice for anything! I made it the night before and nothing was soggy the next day. Other than softening up the carrots, there isn’t a thing I would change.

Carrot-Raisin Salad. Yum!

AROUND THE HOUSE

I got our Christmas tree put up yesterday. I actually waited until the day after. Well, the VCR is eating tapes and I didn’t want to lose National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation to a monster, so since that tradition was wrecked, I just waited. Plus, it was nearly an hour drive for Thanksgiving dinner, so I was in no hurry to do anything when we got home.

GiGi made Beanster a really great tree skirt. I had bought the Charlie Brown fabric and it turned out perfect! I put it around the tree yesterday and quickly found out it is Beanster approved!

If I had made it, it was going to be super simple, but she went the extra mile and made it more detailed.

So, my little $20 unlit tree from the Dollar General looks pretty snazzy, if I do say so myself! I got one string of 200 blinky colored lights and an el cheapo string of 50′ garland. Looks great. I also got a couple of boxes of little wrapped candy canes. So far, 1/2 of them have disappeared off the tree. Ahem. Who could possibly be doing that….

I’ve also had to move all the ornaments 1/2 way up the tree so little hands do not pull them off. In other words, the bottom half is pretty bare. Just lights and garland. 🙂 The presents are under the tree. I had a ball with the curly ribbon. I had about 5 or 6 that I had bought last year on clearance. They make really nice decorations on packages.

The other little bit of good news is that I got Beanster’s Christmas picture taken! Yea! That was a major accopmlishment. It took a while, but as soon as Dada walked in the door, Beanster lit up and I snapped the picture! It’s tough for a 2 year old to sit still for 5 seconds….

Well, I have wassail on the stove. I’m waiting for my mug to cool off so I don’t burn off my tongue. I’ll post that recipe tomorrow (or the next time I’m on here…what is today?) I hope everyone has a blessed rest of the weekend.

Peace and love, everyone!

Leave a Reply

