Turkey season.

HOMESCHOOL

We finally got our turkeys finished! We used a punch to cut out all the feathers a month or so ago. I used a half of a paper plate to attach the feathers and two googly eyes just for grins.

I traced off the body so we knew how far to put the feathers. We glued the body on, then used a few more “feathers”. We glued on the eyes and beak. I’m not quite creative enough to make a waddle, so he’s going to have to go without.

I think it will be pretty cute once it dries.

I’ve been asking Beanster his letters. He’s been watching a lot of SuperWhy and I love the way Princess Pea asks what letter makes the sound as she spells out words. Beanster has really picked up on a lot of it. I’ve been going around asking him the same questions, so while we were making our turkey, I asked him what letter makes the sound “tuh-tuh-tuh”. “T!” So cute.

RECIPES OF ALL KINDS

Well, I made a batch of pumpkin pancakes again this morning. I’ve also made applesauce and banana-nut. I love fall! I don’t know what I’ll do in the spring. I guess it’ll be strawberry, peach, blueberry… Okay, now I’m hungry.

We’re going over to our family’s home for Thanksgiving dinner. I asked what I could bring and they said “carrot-raisin salad” without hesitation. Well, I’ve never made it before, so it should be interesting. I found a recipe online and it’s pretty basic. What I’m going to do, though, is julienne the carrots so they’re a little crispy. I’m going to use Craisins and orange zest, possibly a little juice in the sauce and slivered almonds. I think it will be pretty good. I’m still debating on the pineapple, but I’ll use crushed ones, I think. Who knows.

I’ll let you know how it turns out.

HAPPENINGS

We went to go feed the chickens at the farm down the road. Beanster had the best time. One of the chickens even pecked the food right out of the cup. Of course, it all ended before I could get the camera out.

Beanster feeding the chickens.

We spent some time outdoors at the playground down the road, too. We’ve had a bit of cabin fever with all the real fever running around the house last week. I made sure he was bundled up well and he had a great time. Having been afraid of the swings for so long, it was co cool to see him enjoying swinging and laughing so hard!

I got a random shot of him today while he was checking out a new piece of playground equipment. It’s so cute!

Well, I hope everyone has an excellent Friday! Peace and love, everyone!

Leave a Reply

