Today I am thankful for__________ (fill in the blank).

PERCEPTIONS

Well, it is the Thanksgiving season. So many times, I think we get so busy that we forget about the “thanks” part until we sit down to the turkey dinner and remember to pray. So many of my friends on Facebook are noting daily what they are thankful for. I think that is an excellent idea! It makes you sit down and consciously think of something every single day to be thankful for! I know that I take too much stuff for granted, have expectations above what I deserve, and complain about things that are minute. So, with a change of heart and a chance to re-focus, I think I will start to be thankful everyday this month.

They say it takes 21 times before something is a habit. How many days are there until Thanksgiving? Plenty! Let’s make this a habit and be thankful daily!

I’ll start today off with being thankful for my little Beanster who has given me a reason to blog! I know I haven’t talked about him too terribly much, but that’s because I don’t have time to blog now! He’s so busy and into everything all the time! God truly blessed my Hubby and I when He gave us Beanster. He sees things we miss, loves unconditionally, and has the biggest heart for the hurting! And he’s only 2!

Beanster as an infant. So happy!

HOMESCHOOL

I’ve decided to let Beanster take the reins with his homeschooling. This week he is so into colors! He can name 3 or 4 and point them out. This week “yellow” is his favorite, so we’re seeing it everywhere! He has color cards on the wall. We’re going to work with that and use his Hot Wheels for further reinforcement. Nothing like making learning fun!

GARDENING FOR SANITY

Okay, I have a confession. I haven’t tried any of the lettuce yet. It’s kinda scary looking and I can’t find out what kind it is! I even Googled it, to no avail. I don’t know where the lettuce package is, either. *sigh* It is ready to pick, but it doesn’t look “eater-friendly”!

My Unidentified Leaf-lettuce Object (ULO)!

Can you believe how much this stuff has grown? It is going crazy!

This pool contains lettuces, garlic, peppers of various types, and dill.

I had bought some petunias recently at work and just crammed them all in this little bitty pot. I think they like it! There were nearly twice that many the other day!

6 petunias in a 6.5″ pot!

RECIPES OF ALL KINDS

Okay, so you all know what a pancake fetish I have right now. Well, the other day I broke down and bought some pecans. Yum! They were just the cheap ones from the store and have probably been frozen since last year or something, but they’re good enough. A little bitter, but they’ll do. Well, yesterday, I went by my basic pancake recipe, but I added some sweet potatoes (from a can, not fresh). I also tossed in a little bit of brown sugar and less than 1/4 C of chopped up pecan pieces. They were so good!

I got the basic recipe from “The Joy of Cooking”. That book has nearly everything you could think of! Here’s the basic recipe:

1.5 C. flour
2 T. sugar
1.5 t. baking powder
1 t. salt
1.5 C. milk
2 eggs
3 T. butter, melted.

Mix all dry ingredients. Melt butter, then pour into the bowl of milk and eggs. Beat well. Pour into dry ingredients just until blended.

My twist on this is as follows:
1/8 C. chopped up flax seeds (in the coffee grinder)
1/8 C. wheat germ
a good dose of whatever I put in like bananas, pumpkin, sweet potato, applesauce (about 1 C, maybe)
several good shakes of cinnamon
1/8 t. nutmeg

It always seems to turn out really well. Sometimes I do have to add more milk (maybe to a total of 1.75 C.) Sometimes I have to add more flour and I only add it by a heaping T. at a time.

Well, I need to go finish some laundry and do housework before our big event for the day. Remember, be thankful! Have a great day everyone! Peace and love.

Leave a Reply

