See a need, fill a need.

Okay, I have blown this week to pieces! I had everything ready and it all just fell apart on me. I did cook dinner last night, though. That was fantastic. I guess I went so easy on the curry powder that no one really knew it was Indian food! The flavor was blended so much better today. That might be something that would be good in the crock pot, as they suggested, just to blend flavors more, but it was great like it was!

PERCEPTIONS

I have so many things that I need to do this weekend, but I think it might not all get done. I’ve had a lot of things to think about today. Things might be really tight for us, financially, right now, but we’ve been blessed. I was at a friend’s house yesterday and we began to talk about how children outgrow their clothes so fast. Right now, Beanster could wear an outfit a day and not run out for over a month. Yes. The child has a ton of clothes! But I digress…

She brought up a family that she knows well that is childless. Whether by choice or by nature, they have no children. Not long ago, they were surprised with a distant baby relative. It was a decision of keep him or he went to the state. Well, they couldn’t have that so they decided to keep him. Long story short, they needed clothes ASAP, because he showed up with a bottle and the clothes on his back. The lady had asked my friend if she still had the clothes her son had outgrown. My friend replied that she had given them away already.

Well, knowing how many articles of clothing my son had, and a lot of them from her, I immediately came home and started cleaning out Beanster’s clothes. I kept all the stuff the family has given him for his birthday, but I dragged out all the rest of it. Since this couple doesn’t have children already, I have packed up a lot of toys and things that Beanster doesn’t play with anymore. Seriously, when you look around, you really have too much stuff. There are people in need everywhere and sometimes all I can think is that I just don’t have enough of this, that, or the other. It’s sad.

So, with my minimalist attitude in place, I literally filled up the couch and the floor around it with stuff. (It’s not a super big couch, mind you.) I hope the baby will be able to use some of these things. People were kind enough to pass them down to Beanster, so we should be able to pass it back to someone else in need.

Another friend of mine is going on a mission trip to Guatemala before too long. My only request to the family in need is that if anything doesn’t fit, just return it because it’s going to other people who have very little.

Every time I go through a store and I see the cost of new children’s clothing, I literally gasp and vent a little. I have way too much of my father in me and I say things out loud sometimes that should not be spoken. I know this is true, because I’m at Target and Walmart when I gasp over these prices. I can’t imagine paying more! I always shop the sale racks and purchase for the season that just passed us by. Call it frugality, or whatever, but our budget just doesn’t allow for $20 shirts and $25 pants from other stores. I truly appreciate it when we get some of those hand-me-downs, though! They are well made, but kids outgrow them just as fast as the cheaper clothes. I did pay $10 for a white button-down shirt this past spring (not on sale), but I bought it big enough that Beanster is still able to wear it.

That’s enough of a rant for right now I suppose. I just get a slap in the face sometimes when I realize how blessed we truly are, no matter what our income or our budget. I need to be more grateful for the things I do have, like a roof over my head and food on our table. Jesus said that foxes have holes and birds have nests and the flowers of the field are arrayed more beautifully than Solomon in all his finery, yet He knows when the smallest sparrow falls to the ground, so how much more will the Father provide for us than the animals and plants who have all they need through Him?

We are a blessed people. We need to seek out opportunities to help those less fortunate than us as we can. Not everyone can write a check for grand amounts, I know, but sometimes a listening ear can do more good than anything. Not everyone’s needs are the same. People aren’t one size fits all. We’re all unique and we all have our individual ways of helping those around us. We have gifts that we can use to help our little world be a little nicer, a little more caring, and a little more compassionate. Everyone can use a smile now and then. To quote Robots (the movie), “See a need, fill a need!”

Here’s to a wonderful weekend, everyone. Peace and love.

Leave a Reply

