Weekend projects.

RECIPES OF ALL KINDS

I’ve been wanting to make homemade Chicken Noodle soup. Well, after I saw some leeks at work yesterday, I knew I wanted Chicken-Leek soup. So, I worked on that. I boiled some water first thing this morning and poured in 1/2 cup of barley and let it soak all day. I bought a little bitty chicken at the store today. It was only $3.61. Yea! This evening I boiled the chicken for a while, poking it a few times to get all the juices out. I reserved about 3 cups in a couple of containers for broth later.

I chopped up 3 leeks, 1 Peru sweet onion, and 2 bunches of green onions, plus about 1/2 head of garlic.

Leeks, green onions, Peru sweet onions, and garlic.

I also chopped up about 6 fingerling potatoes that I got off the sale rack. They are some tasty little potatoes. I boiled it all again and seasoned it with parsley and thyme, salt and pepper. Here’s a “sort-of” recipe:

Chicken, Leek, & Barley Soup
1 chicken, boiled and deboned. (I only used about 1/2 of the chicken.)
1/2 C. barley, soaked in boiling water
3 medium leeks
1 medium Peru sweet onion
2 bunches green onions
Minced garlic
5-6 Fingerling potatoes
S & P
Parsley, thyme, or whatever herbs you prefer.

Boil chicken. Slice the leeks up to the green part. Chop green onions and sweet onion. Mince garlic. Saute’ in a pan until tender. Add to pot. Add sliced potatoes, and chicken pieces. Season as preferred.

As a side note, I did throw in about 1/4 C. milk and 1/4 C. baby rice meal. I’ve been trying to use the rice. It’s an excellent thickener. It turned out pretty well!

Chicken, Leek, & Barley soup.

At lunch, I tried to make sweet potato fries, according to a recipe I had found. Well, they started out fairly decent looking.

I put them in the toaster oven and they looked even better!

I cooked them for as long as the recipe said. They never did get anywhere close to crispy. I think next time I will just put oil on the pan, then roll them in it really well to get them coated and just go ahead and heat up the house with the regular oven. I’ve made regular potato fries that way, so maybe it will work for the sweet ones.

At least there was homemade honey-mustard and barbeque sauces to go with it all!

I’m 1 for 1 today.

HOMESCHOOL

I may be ripping this off of someone, but I found this idea that may work. I’ve mentioned previously that my child doesn’t like numbers. I’m trying to find new and creative ways of helping him learn. He loves his letter magnets, but I haven’t seen number magnets. So, I found this cool “paper plate” idea the other day. You pin the corresponding clothes pin to the slice of pie. Pretty simple. I even color-coded it. It took all of 5 minutes to make.

Number pie.

And, since today is the first day of Autumn, we turned our paper plate to the appropriate season!

Hopefully it will begin to feel like autumn soon!

I also have already gotten the week of “H” together. Do you know how hard it is to find worksheets on the color “white”? Yeah. Anyhow, that is our color this week. What I’ve decided to do is incorporate it into our craft. I am going to make a sheep out of paper plates and cotton balls. That’s enough white, I think.

Beanster learned the letter “W” last week, so I did print out a couple of coloring sheets about the letter. It sounds so cute when he says it, “duh-buh-yew”. He’s really enjoying the letter “R”, as well. He loves it when he hears it on SuperWhy. That show has been great matching sounds and letters together.

AROUND THE HOUSE

I have a 2-year-old. I don’t know what’s gotten into him the past few days, but he does this whiney dance. He whimpers and whines and does this dance up on his tippy-toes. It was kinda funny at first, but now it just flat gets on my nerves. I’ve seen it about 10 times a day for the past week. He is refusing to pick up his toys most of the time. I tell him, “Do you know what happens when mama picks up your toys? You don’t get them back for a while.” That usually works, but suddenly, it isn’t working. He just goes off to some other toy on the floor. Right now he is pushing the button on the talking bear that someone gave him. I’ve heard the speech 4 times in a row now. *sigh* I don’t pray for patience, but I do ask God to help me through these times and remain calm.

It would really help if I could get those naps that he gets. Today, though, he took a long nap and I got to read a short novel. It was so nice. I read a book from beginning to end. Ahhh…. It almost felt like I’d had a nap. It was nice to escape, even if only for a little while.

I may take up writing again. It’s nice to find that place where you forget all your problems that occur from day to day. I used to be able to get lost for hours on the weekend, just writing and creating plots and scenarios. Very relaxing. It’s a little like playing God. You have all these people that you have created, you know everything they’re thinking, everything they’re going to do. The only difference is that you manipulate them to do what you want. I guess it’s more like playing dolls or G.I. Joe than anything.

Another thing that is happening (long-term) is potty training. I broke down and bought him a little potty seat that fits on the big potty seat. He’s very excited about it. He has a little one that is his size and sits on the floor, but he’s lost interest. I think he wants use the big potty like dada does. Anywho, the one I bought at Target today was around $10. The funny thing is that it has a little deoderizer on the back!

What will they think of next?

We’ll see how this goes. Wish me luck! That’s all from the south 40. Have a great weekend, everyone!

Peace and love!

Leave a Reply

