Re-evaluation in process.

Sometimes you just need to step back and look at the big picture. I’ve been doing that lately. They say the devil is in the details and when the details come back and bite you, because you didn’t know about them, I would tend to say that’s correct. It’s kind of like contract law – you either know it and understand it or you don’t and pay the penalties.

I’ve begun a re-evaluation of our finances, our insurances, etc. I’ve been reading a lot about all of this and it really is a good idea to see what you are truly paying for, what you are investing in and what your returns are, and a myriad of other things. So far, I’ve only taken care of one big chunk, but what a big chunk it was. Sometimes things change and you don’t read the fine print, too. That’s another great reason to really dig in (when you can find the peace and quiet to do so) and study with a magnifying glass what it all really says.

We’re going to be doing a little bit of financial adjustments and things like that. They say that doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results is insanity. So, since I want to be of a sound mind and worry less about things, I am going to try another tactic and see if we can’t get our bills reduced, our money crunched a little more, and a little more put away for rainy days…literally.

Without vision the people perish. It really is a bore having to go through all this financial stuff. If I enjoyed it, I’m sure I would have been a C.P.A. or something equally as detail-oriented. I wish I was better at all of that, but I’m not. I am good, however, at the legal side of things. That part is interesting to me. I don’t know why…

But I digress. You need a vision in order to stay vital, i.e. – alive. Once you have that vision, you need a roadmap to get there. You can dream all day, but without feet to that plan, you will never get there. Someone has told me recently to put a sticky note up everywhere you normally are with your goals on it. I suppose research has proven that people who do that reach their goals more frequently (80%). So, I am going to do that….I guess I need to add that to my goals list, eh? Yes, I’m still working on that.

I’m also working on a schedule. I’m trying to get it all down on paper and put somewhere very conspicuous so that I can NOT lose it! I want to feel like I have a grasp of things. I want to feel like I’m accomplishing things. I need to feel like I’m getting somewhere. So….

What do I need to do to get there? A vision, a roadmap, a planner, a schedule, and…the will to do it. I love charts and graphs so it’s ludicrous that I haven’t done all this before! There’s no time like the present.

They say everyone needs a will, a power of attorney and a couple other documents for those times you dread and pray don’t happen. You need a budget to get your finances locked down. You need a schedule/planner to keep up with appointments, etc. You need an emergency supply on hand in case disaster strikes. You need $1K in the bank (or 3 – 6 months of money to live on) and I recently read that you now need 8X your annual salary in your retirement account. Okay. Where in the world do you begin?

Make a little list with check boxes! It’s so much nicer to scratch through or check off something to see your progress than to keep that note in your brain. At least, it is for people like me who are very visual. Make a draft, get your thoughts down, then organize them and keep up with them.

This is not at all what I planned on blogging about tonight, but it’s really on my heart. Preparation is key. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. You know that old adages. Well, here’s to making it happen.

Peace and love, everyone! Have a great night.

One thought on “Re-evaluation in process.

  1. Almost my whole life has been scatter-brained from not putting a plan into action. Just dreaming it and not taking steps towards it, pretty much from just being poor and having to think futuristically. And that stupid fear demon! So I know what you mean. There is a site called flylady.net that’s kind of helped me with getting my house in order. The only thing is it takes alot of time to take your “perfectionism” out of your brain. She believes in the schedules/post-it notes also. Oh and another thing, she sends about 10 emails to you a day if you sign up for the Big Tent stuff. But most of it is testimonies from her followers or what she calls a “God Breeze,” an eye-opening experience. I guess you’re figuring most of that out on your own anyway. The main thing I do if I want to get stuff done is make a list of things I can do in a day and check them off. I don’t know why I have to do it that way! I can’t do it without a list.

Leave a Reply

