Chocolate and coffee, chocolate and coffee!

RECIPES OF ALL KINDS

If there’s every two things I really want in life…it’s chocolate and coffee! I can’t resist. So, I’m making this cake tonight. It’s just a plain ol’ Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge. YUM! Well, I decided I’m going to make my homemade icing, instead of getting the canned stuff, because we have this awesome recipe that we’ve made for years. I have no idea where it came from, but it’s a keeper!

It’s pretty simple, really:

Mom’s Homemade Chocolate Icing
4 C. powdered sugar (1 box)
1/2 C. cocoa
1/4 t. salt
1 t. vanilla
7 T. boiling H2O
6 T. butter

Boil water and butter in pan. Pour over dry ingredients. Add vanilla. Stir. Pour over cake.

Well, I decided to jazz it up a bit this time. I kept the same basic recipe, except I added a tad more cocoa. I also substituted coffee (leftover and strong!) for the water. I threw in a few Girhadelli dark chocolate chips.

Step 1: Boil water and melt butter.

For the real kicker, I also added about 3 good shakes of smoked paprika. I know, I know. It sounds crazy, but I had some dark chocolate – smoked paprika homemade ice cream one day and there is just no turning back! You can see it shaken on the top of the pile:

Step 2: Mix dry ingredients.

Next, you pour the butter over the dry stuff and add the vanilla, then stir it up really fast:

Stir really fast, not so much because of dry time, but because you want to hurry and eat it!!!!

This is kind of a soupy icing. You can use less water and get it thicker, I’m sure, but we’ve never done that before. We punch holes in the cake and let it all soak down into it. It doesn’t matter if the cake is cool or not, because the icing is going to be super hot, also. And yes, I do lick the spoon blazing hot!

This one turned out a little thicker than usual, but I beat the heck out of it, so it was nearly super smoothe. It’s also a very glossy icing:

Shiny and sugary and so YUM!

As a side note (and as previously mentioned), I misspoke. It’s not labeled “dark chocolate”, but these are the chips I like to use in almost anything:

Ghiradelli is awesome because they melt so fast and taste so good and rich!

I think I hear it calling my name….yeah. I do. Well, I’ll keep this short and simple tonight. I took some wonderful pictures today at work of all the fall produce and mums that are coming in and I will have to share them with you tomorrow. I LOVE this time of year!

Peace and love, everyone. Have a great evening!

Beanster in his new Oshkosh overalls!
Leave a Reply

