Sleep in peace.

HOMESCHOOL

Okay, here’s a picture of the finished “stained glass” windows we made this week:

“Stained Glass” windows for the week of the letter “G”.

We did that this morning before we left. It was nice to get it finished before Saturday evening!

We had a fun day out as a family. The hubby went with us to a railroad museum not too terribly far away from us. Beanster LOVES the trains! The set-up is massive. I think a lot of it was donated, but they have done a fantastic job with it. There were so many kids there today. I am proud to say that my Beanster was one of the few that did not scream and cry and throw a fit because they couldn’t get down there and play with them. One poor parent had to take their kid out twice! Anyhow, it was a lot of fun for all three of us.

Huge display at the railroad museum.

I found some really great coloring sheets on a website tonight. I typed in “transportation coloring sheets” on their search and came up with about 14 pages of only coloring sheets.

http://www.education.com/

I really like these guys because they break it down so well between age/grade, subject, etc. It is easy to find nearly anything, at least in the toddler section.

Tonight I am going to work on the coming week’s homeschool stuff. We are doing the letter “H”, the color “white”, the number “8”, and the shape “square”. I think we may have to make a train out of squares. If Beanster keeps asking for “too-toos”, I may have to use trains for the next two weeks! He is just crazy about them this week!

AROUND THE HOUSE

As for the cookies I made the other day with the granola, they are fantastic! The only thing I could have done differently is to let them set up in the freezer for half an hour or so. That way, I could have rolled them and had them bake a little more…uh, not so spread out.

They may be flat, but they’re good!

I still have some Idaho peaches in the refrigerator that I need to do something with. They are so good! We also bought some Honey Crisp apples. If you have never tried them, I highly recommend them!

One thing I have decided is that my child does not need to be drinking milk. At least, not conventional milk. His little personality has changed since he started guzzling the stuff. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE milk with any dessert. BUT, I think it doesn’t agree with him and he gets so fussy! We used the last of our Gripe Water last night and we haven’t picked up anymore, because it costs a little bit. It works, though! Someone had recommended it to me and I haven’t looked back since the first time I tried it. It works well on adult tummies, also.

Anyhow, if he asks for milk (okay, screams for milk) and we give him some, it is all we can do to get him to eat his meals! Then, he wants snacks! Well, we’re going to have to nip this in the bud. I believe we’re going to have to start purchasing organic milk. We’ll see if it’s the hormones and antibiotics making him act out or if he’s just lactose intolerant. We fed him organic soy baby formula for quite some time, because he could not handle to dairy formula. I am guessing that is what it is.

Just in case anyone is curious, we started off with Earth’s Best Organic Soy baby formula, then we switched to Vermont Organics Soy formula. We only switched because of the cost. To this day, though, Beanster still loves his Earth’s Best baby food. He eats Level 2 and Level 3. I like giving it to him, because, for one thing, it’s organic. For another thing, I like giving him a variety or things. They seem to have the widest variety of fruits and vegetables. That’s just my opinion.

RAMBLINGS

My two-year-old cannot sit in a chair. It’s not easy when you see him climbing up on stuff and you’re telling him to get down and he just keeps right on going, knowing how close you have to be to get him. He definitely knows limits. Not the limits of what is right and wrong, but more like the limits of a dog chain. He knows when he needs to drop what he’s doing and then run! So much fun…

I still love to watch him study things. He is so curious all the time. Sometimes, it even gets me interested in what he’s looking at. I try to teach him at the level he’s at. I can tell when it’s over his head or he just isn’t interested. You get the glazed over look, then he says, “Momma, momma, momma,” with that pleading look on his face. So, we take a break and find something else to do or another way to explain it.

There are times when he gets that glazed over look and he completely understands you and that’s the times when he’s doing something, but not in enough trouble to run. He looks off and just acts like you’re not even there.

He’s learned so many new words, too. It’s so cute to hear him say, “I dance!” or “I fyin'” (flying), or “I hop!” He has the best time doing stuff that he knows the verbs to. It’s great to hear him practicing. Today he got ahold of his Thomas the Train flashcards. He picked up the “W” card for “wheels” and said, “Wheels!” He wanted to say “rails”, also, but it wasn’t quite there.

Well, I guess that’s enough rambling for now. I hope everyone has a great night. Let’s keep our servicemen and our embassies in our prayers, along with our nation. Peace and love, everyone.

Sleep in Heavenly peace.
Leave a Reply

