The last days of summer…

It’s so nice being close to the beach, for several reasons. For one thing, it’s a great place to go cool off, relax, watch the out-of-towners, and collect shells. For a second thing, it’s a great earth science type of place to be. There are so many different shells on the beach, several types of beach birds, all sorts of life crawling around on the sand and swimming by in the water. It’s a wide open classroom. Plus, you can see for miles, so the cloud formations are just amazing!

There are so many different shells that have washed up on the beach since the “storm” that missed us a couple of weeks ago.

And there are plenty of birds to chase if you feel you need a little exertion!

Beanster chasing shore birds.

There are also other types of waterways around the area that are more on the marshy side of things. There are plenty of hermit crabs, minnows, frogs, and other animals to see. There are so many grasses and reeds to see and the landscape can change so quickly sometimes that you see several different landscapes to view in a reasonably close area!

Plus, it’s nice to support the Parks system…

HOMESCHOOL

Well, I’m counting today as a homeschool lesson. We saw various types of aircraft and land vehicles (Beanster’s favorites were the “hugger” (helicopter) and the 4-wheeler that the Rangers use at the beach and in the park). There was plenty of life science to go around, including the tides. Then, he studied Physics without even knowing it! He never really looked up, but with the different types of clouds that were out there and watching them move around, we studied that, too! I don’t know whether to call that meterology or what!

We are going to redo “G” week. There’s been so much going on, but we have several more days to finish it. There’s a really neat coloring page that I had downloaded that I’m pretty interested to see what he’s going to do. It’s the letter with a lot of pictures all jumbled together in it that all start with “G”. I have also found some more free Kindle books this week with animals that start with “G”: goshawk, gnats. I know there are some more, but the list is out of sight at the moment.

CRAFTS GALORE

I found a couple more pieces of fabric at the store today for some more pants for Beanster. One of them was Hot Wheels and the other one has footballs all over it (“guh-guh-bow”!). I only needed 1/2 yard to make such little bitty pants. I finally figured out what was wrong with the sewing machine: it only sews on a certain stitch length. *sigh*

The fabric is in the washer right now. I hope these pants turn out okay. The pattern was obviously for children his age who are already potty-trained, because the inseam/stride is just too short. My child doesn’t need baggy pants! The diaper top just pops right out. So, I’m going to alter these so there is a little more leeway and the diaper might stay covered.

I also bought one piece for a flannel blanket. I’m not going to back it; I’m just going to put a hem all the way around it. It has different sports all over it.

AROUND THE HOUSE

I’ve been trying to find ways to use things I haven’t used yet. Granola is one of those things. I have a bag of cereal that I KNOW I’m not going to eat as cereal. So, the thought occurred to me the other day to use it in my homemade cookies! I already put nuts, cranberries, coconut, chocolate chips, and all sorts of things in there. It’s the Quaker Vanishing Oatmeal-Raisin Cookie recipe. It’s so yum! So, since I can’t stand for it to go to waste (I don’t know why I bought it because I don’t like granola-type cereal), I am hoping to try that tonight. I will probably add some other stuff, depending on what exactly is in the granola, itself. I think it will be good. The recipe is fantastic like it is. Here’s the link to it:

http://www.quakeroats.com/cooking-and-recipes/content/recipes/recipe-detail.aspx?recipeid=474

I’ve also been trying to get things together for a garage sale. Ugh! I don’t really like them, but we’ve given so much away already, and I thought a little spending money might be nice to have. I’m not crazy enough to do one when it’s super hot (pretty much 9 months out of the year), but I don’t want to wait until the rainy season, either. We’ll see how it goes. We have PLENTY of baby clothes for it.

Well, I guess that’s all from the homefront. I hope you all have had a blessed week, so far. Peace and love, everyone!

Beanster excited to see a “hugger” flying over.
One thought on “The last days of summer…

  1. It is so wonderful to see the world and all its beauty through a child’s eyes, especially if you are his
    GiGi….love and kiisses

Leave a Reply

