Trials and tribulations…and some fun stuff, too!

Okay, so they’re not really tribulations, but we are going through some serious trials lately. The fleas have amassed an army and I believe they’ve tripled their hatching rate! I found some recipes online that I am going to try. I heard that a LOT of people around this area are having major issues, so it’s not just us, thank God!

AROUND THE HOUSE

So, here’s the recipe I have found:

Distilled water, and 3-5 drops of 4 of the following essential oils:
lavender
peppermint
lemon geranium
lemongrass
citronella
thyme
orange
cedar
rosewood
eucalyptus
neem
myrrh
lemon

I already have 2 of them from the mosquito repellant which is working fabulously and chemical-free! I was a little surprised that they recommended water instead of witch hazel. Oh well. I guess I’ll make a dash into town tomorrow to pick up two of the others. The site did say that lavender and peppermint work well. I guess it’s pretty much the same directions as the other because it said to put it in a spray bottle, so since the proportions were not directly stated, I am going to attempt this recipe according to the other one. I’ll be sure to let you know how it turns out.

My thinking is as follows: if a flea repellant put on an animal drives away fleas, where do I think they’re going to go? Wherever and whoever doesn’t have a repellant on them! So, if this works I will be eternally grateful to ehow.com!

There hasn’t been much going on in the way of anything else today. Mainly a battle with the pests. My part in all this was to get Beanster out of the house. They put down the diatomaceous earth on the rest of the house and that’s not good stuff to be breathing in, so we let them do their thing today. We did get in some great time with family, though.

CRAFTS GALORE

Well, my mom has been doing these little pine cone decorations and a friend did some flower punches for her. This has opened a whole new world for me that I didn’t even know existed. Her friend has a flower punch thing and we looked all over creation for one today and all we could find were the little ones. Well, I was already going to be taking up way too much time with this project, but to have twice as many things to work with because they are too small is just not in my “time budget”. Oh well. Maybe Christmas will bring one.

I still haven’t gotten that sewing machine needle replaced. *ahem*

HOMESCHOOL

I saw this great thing the other day on a website. It requires 2 paper plates, some markers, and a brad. I have all those. You draw pie slices on one and fill in the information that plate is about and then cut that size pie slice out of the top plate, then brad them together. Super simple! They stack well, too, so they won’t take up much space. Think of all the topics you can cover with these simple things! The one I saw was about clouds. I am super excited about starting this new homeschool project.

We also have a great craft for this coming week. We’re doing a “stained glass” project. We did one like it …years… ago in VBS when I was a kid. I’ve always thought about it. We’re doing this one a little differently, but the cool thing is that we used a lot of construction paper scraps and an old cereal box! I will have to put up a photo of that, as well.

I guess that’s all for tonight. Stay safe and sleep well. Peace and love, everyone!

Leave a Reply

