Perceptions

PERCEPTIONS

Ya know…(deep breath)…it really is true that positive people attract more to themselves. At least, more positive people and things. It’s not psychological or super-spiritual or hocus-pocus. It’s really true. I say this because I am experiencing this with someone in my own life in the opposite way. Negative people really drive you away. Sometimes they drive everyone away.

What’s really difficult is that every single time you see this person, you hear the horrible negative news, how terrible their situation is, how broke they are, etc. I understand their plight. I really do! I’m in that same boat! But I refuse to let it break me down. If I could run every single time I saw this person, I would. Usually, I’m trapped and can’t leave and I have to sit and listen to it.

For those who know me, I have down days. I’m not the most super-positive and chipper cheerleader type of person. I don’t tell a lot of my problems and issues because no one really cares or wants to hear it. Some do, but most don’t. I do try to hear other people’s problems and offer advice or a shoulder to cry on if I can. I really do try.

But hearing the same thing every time you see a person can wear you down…down…down. Yeah, I get it.

In light of that, it reminds me that this person may not be relying on the God I serve.

My God says, “Come to me all who are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest.”
My God says, “I shall supply all your NEEDS according to My riches in Glory.”
My God says, “I have overcome the world.”
My God says, “Lay down and wake up in peace.”
My God says, “Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like the flowers of the field, whom God gives all they need.”

So true. Why do I worry? I guess it’s because I have nothing better to do. Not true. I actually worry because I am a control-freak, pinned in a hole not completely of my making, and I want everything fixed yesterday. It seems like the more I fear my circumstances, the more they happen. I know God is telling me trust Him with everything! I try, but does that mean everyone around me that can directly affect me are going to trust Him as well and everything will be hunky-dory? I wish that was exactly what I believed and had deep faith in. I don’t. I know people too well, but I also know who my God is. He is Jehovah Jireh, the LORD my Supplier.

There are things I fear deeply right now. Like this stupid hurricane-to-be. I don’t fear the wind and waves, but I fear a tree falling on our house. We don’t have a way to pay for it to be fixed. I fear a tree falling on my car. I’d be stuck with a Yugo or something. (Do they even make Yugos anymore?) We could be out of work for more than 3 days and our paychecks would dry up before they hit the bank. How would we pay our bills? I don’t know. See? I worry too much. God has said very clearly that HE WILL SUPPLY MY EVERY NEED! Call me Thomas for not quite being able to 100% dive into that.

I am the type that has to feel the nail holes in His hands. I am the one who sits in the boat and waits for someone else to get out first and test the waters. I am the one that sits around waiting for God to act on His word that He has PROMISED! Perhaps I’ve had people promise things at some point and they didn’t follow through on it and now I doubt God. Maybe I’ve had people leave me high and dry for some reason or another and they didn’t feel bad about it and now I wonder if God will come through for me.

Am I the only one who goes through this? I know that God is True and Faithful. He was, is, and always will be. I’ve seen enough to know it’s true. Why do I doubt? God knows. He knows me and He loves me, anyhow. He loves the people around me that drive me absolutely crazy. He wants them to depend on Him, also, and quit worrying! Yes, we have some deep problems right now, but my God owns the cattle on the 1,000 hills!

Thank you for letting me be transparent for just a little while. It helps to be honest and not shovel layers of gravel over your issues. Denial isn’t pretty and sometimes we just need to tell God how we really feel about our situation. Remember the man who told Jesus, “Lord, I believe, but help my unbelief”? That has stuck with me for years. He told that to Jesus! Who would better understand that than the man’s Creator and Savior? Sometimes we just need to sit down and get real with God. I guess I should have called this segment “Confessions”, eh?

Well, time to go have some one-on-one “real” time with my Lord.

Peace and love.

Leave a Reply

