Can we say, “provision”?

Today I had no idea what I was going to talk about. It was a pretty usual day, with a typical drive to work. Ho Hum. It has turned out quite unexpectedly, actually.

HOMESCHOOL

Anywho, I found some brads at Office Depot today. They were a little pricey, but they were all I’ve been able to find. We have a craft this week that I needed one (so I had to buy a pack of 60). We got a couple of other school supplies that you just don’t realize you need until you start getting into stuff. I guess you…”learn”…as you go, eh?

Ahem. I thought that was funny.

I’ve decided that we are going to write the Scriptures down on an index card and pin it on a spot on the wall. I could only find plain white, unlined ones, which after thinking about it, they will probably work even better! We have a plethora of Sharpies and markers with which to decorate them all.

I was desperate to find a craft for the week of “E” that we could easily do. My crafts are getting easier every week, it seems. Again, you learn as you go. I decided on (after hitting Google for a while) an envelope. So, I made a cutout mailbox with a little red flag. That’s what the one, single, solitary brad is for. (*sigh*) We’re going to write a few letters and send them via the “mailbox”, then we’ll send them for real in a week or so.

This week is also “5”. I am going to have him trace around his hands and feet. He can do his hands on his own. He surprises me sometimes, but I guess I’ve had him do it enough that he likes to try it on his own.

I also happened to be wandering through Target (very dangerous for my budget), but I found some reward stickers in the $1 section at the front of the store. You know there’s a very good reason why they put it right there, don’t you? It’s because of people like me! Anyhow, I realized that I’m not really rewarding him for enough good behavior and good school work, which could contribute to why he’s acting like he’s 2 this week! I’m determined to work on positive reinforcement more. It’s easy to continually correct bad behavior, but forget to commend them when they are acting in a more constructive and positive manner.

Finally, we have some toner in our printer, so I was able to print out some coloring sheets. I try to do a craft on the back or something else to use the sheet, because sometimes I forget to print on the back. Oh well. You live, you…learn…ha ha ha.

AROUND THE HOUSE

Today when we were arriving home from work, I happened to notice a “Yard Sale” sign for a house on our street. Well, after getting home, eating lunch, cleaning up from lunch, and digging out my dollar bills, we headed down the street. It was great, because we got to meet a neighbor that we didn’t previously know. They were already closing up shop and had a ton of things at the curb. I was pretty disappointed, but we came home with a set of 8 stackable shelves, a set of 2 stackable baskets on wheels, a set of 3 stackable shelves, two baskets that hang off a shelf (one is now my mailbox), a wicker chair (very unusal), a hanging 22-pocket shoe rack, and a, for lack of a better word, coffee table. Solid. I went down there with $6. I came back with $6. They gave us all of that stuff. GAVE! God is so good! I just got rid of Beanster’s table yesterday because it was so rickety and he kept getting up on top of it! I know he’ll get on this one, too, but it’s SOLID! He is already using it!

Seriously, there’s a lot of acreage on this table!

I saw an article the other day about trying to manage your time and organize ahead of time. They had used a hanging thingy that you put sweaters and folding slacks and things in. They said that if you can get all the clothes, belts, jewelry and whatever else you child needs before they go to school, it will be less of a hassle in the mornings! Well, this is a shoe rack, but check out how well it works! I have 20 Monday through Friday pockets, along with 2 large ones on the bottom for Saturday and Sunday! I am so excited about this!

I know what you’re thinking, and my husband’s already said it: he’s going to pull stuff out. Yeah, I know. But it’s better than him pulling every single item out of all the drawers, eh? At least he can only reach up to Thursday! 🙂

I love vertical organization. My dream home includes one room that is just shelves all the way around and all the way up. Some are open for books, some have drawers to put things in, and every drawer is labeled! Ah, I seriously want this room!

Once again, the office has some more floor space. I am going to continue to go through things and get rid of what isn’t needed. It’s so hard! I’m not a hoarder by any stretch, but I do have some things that need to go. I’ve done well, so far, but why keep things you don’t need. Reading all these minimalist books is really making want to shed most of my possessions. The trouble with that theory is that I do use most of it. Our main issue is that there are 2 households living under one roof. I don’t have so much stuff for a regular one-family home, but in a house built in the 1950’s it’s a little cramped. That’s why I LOVE vertical shelving and storage! But I digress…

The point is that God is truly watching out for us! I have been ruminating on all this storage mess and He provided, for FREE, a ton of shelving and some other really great things that we needed! All last week, all I kept hearing was that God cares about the little things. Well, Beanster’s table and the hanging shoe rack are two major proofs of that! Can we say, “provision”?

It’s nice to be reminded of the good things in life when the world around you seems to be falling apart, eh?

Have a great weekend everyone!

Peace and love.

Leave a Reply

