Hurray, Hurrah!

Ahhh. Friday. Just the thought makes me nostalgic. Actually, I don’t miss the 8-5 grind. I’m so much busier now, having time for projects that have been lingering for years, and having a two-year old. My hours are pretty much 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. most days, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I’ve waited this many years to be Betty Crocker, so I’m loving all the cooking and taking care of a certain Beanster. I’m not the best housekeeper in the world so I won’t say I enjoy the cleaning. 🙂

This morning I took care of the olives, finally! I was a couple of days past due. The salt basically absorbed all the water out of them. They were pruned up and had this nice little salt cocoon around them. I broke the salt off, ground it up again, and poured it back over the olives. The recipe didn’t say to add “fresh” salt, so I am hoping this doesn’t ruin them.

I also got some of my dried herbs put away. I had clipped several sprigs of mint and rosemary a few weeks ago. They were crispy dry this morning and came off the stems nicely. I picked some more mint and laid it out to dry. I will be hanging it up in the laundry room for a few weeks. I’m trying to get as much as possible, just in case we have a cold snap this winter (I wish) and the mint ends up biting the dust. It would be nice to have a cold snap and get rid of all these pesky bugs we’re dealing with in the summers! I do need to plant some different herbs next year, though. I miss having fresh oregano in the yard. I do have some basil, but as of the last harvest, there wasn’t enough of it yet. I got a late start on the basil and then some bug made lunch of it one day. I put it up on a stand and, for some unknown reason, that has stopped the problem.

I am going to try a nearly vegetarian Mexican meal tonight. For some reason, Taco Bell sounded really great today, but I didn’t pass one on the way home. I went to the grocery store and picked up some refried beans (the Taco Bell brand) and some flour tortillas. I am going to use rice and black beans, along with some seasoning. I hope it tastes a little better than bland. I usually have a hard time making things taste flavorful. I have a few recipes that I’m pretty good at and a few soul food recipes handed down from my grandmother that taste really good. (She had the good cooking gene!) Well, we’ll see.

I had to take some puzzles away from someone last night. Maybe he’ll be more ready for them in a year. He was chewing up the foam ones and dumping out the two wooden ones that didn’t have pegs to hold them with. So, they’re going up to solve a little bit of the evening frustration.

Well, here’s wishing everyone a fantastic evening. Peace and love.

Leave a Reply

