Wrapping up a wonderful week!

This week has been so much fun and such an adventure! We have nearly finished our first week’s curriculum. I did manage to get Week 2 finished this morning. I even put a few notes down on paper for Week 3! For week 1 we did some crafts, but the ant clothespin looks more like a caterpillar at the moment. I am searching for those magnets that you either glue or stick on the back to put him on the refrigerator. He’s super cute, but unfinished. The paper bag ant puppet is pretty atrocious. I need to read some more instructions on how to make them cute! It’s been so long since I’ve done anything like that. Since we were working on “A” this week, I counted the little clothespin airplanes we made a few weeks ago. They are going to be Christmas ornaments this year.

I also made that homemade insect repellent today. We tested it out and it seems to work fairly well! Hubby only got a couple of bites, Beanster got one, but it was on his arm and I didn’t spray him there. I had a couple of them land on me, but they didn’t get a chance to dine. The recipe is as follows:
1-14 oz. bottle witch hazel
15 drops citronella oil
15 drops lemongrass oil
Combine all and shake well in a bottle. Spray as needed. They say you can also spray it around you if you’re sitting outside, but be careful not to get it on your face or in your eyes.

I started my lettuce patch today. We didn’t get to plant until late this afternoon, due to a pretty severe sounding little thunderstorm. If I can keep someone’s little hands out of the soil, the seeds may have a chance to germinate and grow! I also harvested my massive crop of olives today. I started the brining process. I should know in a month whether it is a good method or not. I didn’t have enough olives to try a second method. Seriously.

I have yet to clean the house, but I now understand the verse in Proverbs 31 that says, “Her lamp burns late into the night.” I take heart in that. After a load of laundry, some vacuuming, dusting, cleaning of a bathroom, and learning the harmony to a worship song for morning service tomorrow, I should be able to call tomorrow a day of rest and sit around a read a magazine! Peace and love everybody. Have a great rest of the weekend!

2 thoughts on “Wrapping up a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

